Date
Monday, 30 October 2017 to Wednesday, 01 November 2017

Application for Science Collaboration Symposium

Attending Countries: UK and Gulf Countries

Theme: Clean and Renewable Energy

Dates: 30 October – 1 November 2017

Location: United Arab Emirates

BACKGROUND

The availability of enormous renewable energy potential in the Gulf region, coupled with a number of other factors, has encouraged most of these countries to develop renewable energy projects and declare national targets for deployment of renewable energy technologies. These factors vary from one country to another, but in general include population growth, economic expansion, industrialisation, urbanisation, rural development, scarcity of water resources and climate change vulnerabilities. 

The Gulf region is comprised of some of the world’s largest hydrocarbon producing countries. Combined, these countries control almost a third of proven crude-oil reserves and approximately a fifth of global gas reserves. Harnessing these fossil fuel reserves and their subsequent export has underpinned impressive economic growth, which consequently has brought about widespread prosperity and development. Hydrocarbon exports have been an engine for development, but fossil fuels are increasingly utilised to meet rising domestic energy demands.

Rapid industrialisation, population growth, and increasing requirements for water desalination are resulting in rising energy demands, impacting the ability of some countries to maintain export levels over the long-term. These dynamics have compelled governments to embark on a diversification strategy to meet growing needs and support continued economic growth. A systematic diversification of the region’s energy towards alternative sources, including renewable energy, presents ample opportunities as it would free up domestic petroleum and gas production for export. Additionally, a transition towards a more sustainable energy future would reduce carbon-dioxide (CO2) emissions and bring a wide array of other socio-economic benefits including job creation and increased local economic diversification; an aspiration deeply embedded in the visions and development strategies of all the Gulf countries.

Water use is also intrinsically linked to energy supply in the region. Gulf countries are faced with limited natural water supplies and ever increasing demand due to rapid population growth. Water scarcity is a reality mitigated by high reliance on sea water desalination which is an energy intensive activity. Increasingly, Gulf countries have been exploring renewable energy technologies to provide the energy required for their desalinations needs. Renewable energy can provide a low carbon alternative to meet water demand and free up gas resources for commercial purposes. Water and energy are also intrinsically linked, with a vast potential for harnessing energy from wastewater, hydroelectricity and other innovative forms of renewable technologies.

The latest innovations, research practices and technologies related to clean and renewable energy will be discussed, including (but not limited to) the following areas:

1. Solar Energy 

2. Wind Energy 

3. Waste to Energy 

4. Wave Power 

5. Geothermal Energy 

6. Nuclear Energy

7. Biofuels

8. Use of renewable energy for water desalination

9. Water-Energy Nexus

10. Hydroelectric power 

The Symposium will be held at the UAE University in Al Ain from 30th October to 1st November 2017. It will be attended by scientists from research institutions and start-up companies/industries from the Gulf countries and the UK. It will invite open discussions and potential investment to encourage the creation of UK-Gulf collaboration to access the deep pool of information & technology sharing, which will in turn lead to benefits for both the Gulf and the UK and open the door for commercial opportunities. We are asking researchers to present their stimulating work and ideas related to clean and renewable energies.

This Symposium is delivered as part of the UK Gulf Science Innovation Knowledge Economy Programme, which will also launch the second round of calls for research proposals via the Institutional Links in the Spring of 2018. Renewable energy will be one of the topics included in this call. 

This symposium is funded by the British Government as part of the UK commitment to further support collaboration between the UK and Gulf science communities and is organised by the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, the UK Science & Innovation Network and the British Council in partnership with the United Arab Emirates University in Al Ain. 

The following expenses will be covered for the researchers selected to attend: 

• Visa to UAE (if required). This will be processed through our local travel agency.

• Return economy flight to/from Abu Dhabi International Airport.

• Return airport transfers - Abu Dhabi International Airport / Hotel / Abu Dhabi International Airport.

• 4 night’s accommodation in a single room for international delegates (check-in on 29 October and check-out on 2 November).

• 3 night accommodation in a single room for UAE delegates coming from other Emirates (check-in on 29 October and check-out on 1 November).

• Transportation between Hotel / Venue / Hotel.

• All meals will be provided during your stay.

Please note that those attending from industry/SMEs must be self-funded.

APPLICATION DEADLINE

The deadline for receiving applications is 19 August 2017

Completed applications should be sent to asmaa.ibrahim@ae.britishcouncil.org

Date
الاثنين 30 أكتوبر 2017 to الأربعاء 01 نوفمبر 2017

تطبيق لندوة التعاون في مجال العلوم

البلدان المشاركة: المملكة المتحدة وبلدان الخليج

الموضوع: الطاقة النظيفة والمتجددة

التواريخ: ٣٠ أكتوبر – ١ نوفمبر ٢٠١٧

المكان: الإمارات العربية المتحدة

 

عن الندوة

إن توفر إمكانيات كامنة هائلة للطاقة المتجدّدة في منطقة الخليج بالإضافة إلى عدد من العوامل قد حفّز معظم بلدان الخليج على تطوير مشاريع للطاقة المتجدّدة والإعلان عن أهداف وطنية لنشر تكنولوجيا الطاقة المتجدّدة. تتفاوت هذه العوامل من بلد إلى آخر ولكنها تشمل بشكل عام النمو السكاني والتوسّع الاقتصادي والتطوّر الصناعي والتوسع الحضري والتنمية الريفية وندرة مصادر المياه وقابلية تغيّر المناخ.

تتألف منطقة الخليج من بعض أكثر بلدان العالم إنتاجًا للمواد الهيدروكربونية. حيث تسيطر هذه البلدان مجتمعة على حوالي ثلث احتياطي النفط الخام المثبت وحوالي خمس إحتياطي الغاز في العالم. وقد أدى استثمار هذه الاحتياطيات من الوقود الأحفوري وما ينتج عنه من تصدير إلى تعزيز النمو الاقتصادي بشكل مثير للإعجاب، مما سمح بالتالي بتحقيق الرخاء والتنمية على نطاق واسع. وتشكل الصادرات الهيدروكربونية محركًا للتنمية، إلا أن الوقود الأحفوري يستخدم على نحو متزايد لتلبية الطلب المتنامي على الطاقة المحلية.

ونظرًا للتطوّر الصناعي والنمو السكاني بشكل متسارع وتزايد الطلب على تحلية المياه، يزداد الطلب على الطاقة مما يقوّض قدرة بعض البلدان على الحفاظ على مستوى صادراتها على المدى البعيد. وقد دفعت هذه الديناميات الحكومات إلى الشروع في استراتيجية التنويع من مصادر الطاقة لتلبية الاحتياجات المتزايدة ودعم استمرارية النمو الاقتصادي. والتنويع المنهجي في مصادر الطاقة في المنطقة نحو مصادر بديلة بما في ذلك الطاقة المتجددة يتيح للمنطقة فرصًا كبيرة لأن من شأن ذلك تحرير إنتاج النفط والغاز المحلي من عبء تلبية الحاجة المحلية وتخصيصه للتصدير. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن الانتقال نحو مستقبل أكثر استدامة للطاقة سيقلل انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون (CO2) ويجلب مجموعة واسعة من الفوائد الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الأخرى. وتشمل هذه الفوائد خلق فرص عمل مع زيادة التنوع الاقتصادي المحلي؛ وهو طموح راسخ في جميع رؤى واستراتيجيات التنمية لجميع دول الخليج.

يعتبر استخدام المياه مرتبطًا بصورة وثيقة بإمدادات الطاقة في المنطقة. تعاني بلدان الخليج من إمدادات محدودة من المياه ولا ينفك يزداد الطلب عليها بسبب النمو السكاني المتسارع. وندرة المياه واقع يتم التخفيف من وطأته من خلال الاعتماد على تحلية مياه البحر وهو نشاط يستهلك الطاقة بشكل كبير جدًّا. وتبحث بلدان الخليج منذ مدّة وبشكل متزايد في خيارات تكنولوجيا الطاقة المتجددة لتوفير الطاقة اللازمة للتحلية. ومن شأن الطاقة المتجددة أن تؤمّن بديلًا قليل الكربون لتلبية الطلب على المياه وتحرير مصادر الغاز للأغراض التجارية. كما أن المياه والطاقة مرتبطتان بشكل وثيق أيضًا مع وجود فرص كامنة كبيرة لتوليد الطاقة من مياه الصرف الصحي والطاقة الكهرومائية وغيرها من الأشكال المبتكرة للتكنولوجيات المتجددة.

وستتم مناقشة آخر الابتكارات والأبحاث والممارسات والتكنولوجيا المتعلقة بالطاقة النظيفة والمتجددة بما يشمل (ولكن لا ينحصر في) المجالات التالية:

١. الطاقة الشمسية

٢. طاقة الرياح

٣. توليد الطاقة من النفايات 

٤. طاقة الأمواج

٥. طاقة الحرارة الأرضية

٦. الطاقة النووية

٧. الوقود الحيوي

٨. استخدام الطاقة المتجددة لتحلية المياه

٩. العلاقة بين الطاقة والمياه

١٠. الطاقة الكهرومائية

 

سوف تعقد هذه الندوة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة في جامعة العين من ٣٠ أكتوبر حتى ١ من نوفمبر ٢٠١٧. وسيحضر الندوة علماء من مؤسسات بحثية وشركات / قطاعات ناشئة من دول الخليج والمملكة المتحدة. وستدعو هذه الفعاليات الى نقاشات مفتوحة وستشجع الاستثمارات المحتملة للترويج إلى إقامة علاقات تعاون بين المملكة المتحدة وبلدان الخليج للوصول إلى تبادل المعلومات والتكنولوجيا على أوسع نطاق، مما يعود بالنفع على دول الخليج والمملكة المتحدة كما يفتح الباب للفرص التجارية. الباحثون مدعوون لتقديم أعمالهم المحفزة وأفكارهم ذات الصلة بالطاقة النظيفة والمتجددة.

 

يتم تقديم هذه الندوة كجزء من برنامج الابتكار العلمي واقتصاد المعرفة للمملكة المتحدة ودول الخليج، الذي سيطلق أيضًا الدورة الثانية من الدعوات لتقديم إقتراحات الأبحاث من خلال الروابط المؤسسية في ربيع العام ٢٠١٨. وستكون الطاقة المتجددة أحد المواضيع المشمولة في هذه الدعوة.

هذه الندوة ممولة من قبل الحكومة البريطانية كجزء من التزام المملكة المتحدة بالاستمرار في دعم التعاون بين مجتمعات العلوم من المملكة المتحدة ودول الخليج وهي من تنظيم وزارة استراتيجيات الأعمال والطاقة والصناعة في المملكة المتحدة (BEIS) وشبكة العلوم والابتكار في المملكة المتحدة (SIN) والمجلس الثقافي البريطاني بالشراكة مع جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في العين.

ستتم تغطية النفقات التالية للباحثين الذين يتم اختيارهم لحضور الندوة:

.  تأشيرة الدخول للإمارات العربية المتحدة (إذا لزم الأمر). وسيتم إستصدارها عبر وكالة سفرياتنا المحلية.

.  تذكرة عودة من الدرجة السياحية إلى / من مطار أبو ظبي الدولي.

.  المواصلات من وإلى مطار أبو ظبي الدولي / الفندق / مطار أبو ظبي الدولي.

.  الإقامة مدة ٤ ليالٍ في غرفة مفردة للموفدين الدوليين (تسجيل الدخول في ٢٩ أكتوبر وتسجيل الخروج في ٢ نوفمبر).

.  الإقامة مدة ٣ ليالٍ في غرفة مفردة للموفدين من الإمارات العربية المتحدة القادمين من إمارات أخرى (تسجيل الدخول في 29 أكتوبر وتسجيل الخروج في 1 نوفمبر).

.  سيتم توفير المواصلات من وإلى الفندق / مكان الندوة / الفندق.

.  سيتم توفير جميع الوجبات لكم خلال إقامتكم. 

  *يرجى أخذ العلم بأن المشاركين من قطاعات / شركات صغيرة أو متوسطة ينبغي أن يكونوا مموّلين ذاتيًّا.

 

يرجى ارسال الطلبات إلى:  asmaa.ibrahim@ae.britishcouncil.org