Date
Tuesday, 14 November 2017 to Thursday, 16 November 2017

Application for Science Collaboration Symposium

Attending Countries: UK and Gulf Countries

Theme: Cyber Security

Dates: 14 - 16 November 2017

Location: University of Manchester, United Kingdom

Background

Countries across the Gulf region are striving towards the notion of a digital economy, and although digitalisation holds the prospective for vast benefits, it also comes with risk from the ever-growing number of cyber related threats.

Cyber terrorism is a global issue and one that is ever changing, both in terms of the level of sophistication and the impact to public and private entities. Cyber related crime has evolved thanks to the advancing capabilities of those responsible, as well as the efficiency of these networks of groups seeking to benefit from cyber terrorism. Nation states have also sought to develop and utilise cyber attack technologies and are employing these as part of their national military capabilities, as well as many threat actors stealing valuable intellectual property.

The vast resources of the Gulf countries and their rapid adoption of digital technology have made them a prime target for cyber related activity. Cyber security has, therefore, become a priority for Gulf States following a number of recent attacks on both public and private sector companies, with the number of incidents in the region rising by as much as 500% in the last year. Governments across the region are conscious of these new threats and are actively seeking to strengthen their national cyber-security infrastructure, prompting a push at a national level to assess and rectify weaknesses.

Given the close relationship between the Gulf and the UK, it is also in the UK national interest that our Gulf partners have effective cyber security capabilities, not least as in many cases the UK is dependent on the effective functioning of key elements of the Gulf countries’ critical national infrastructure.

With this in mind, we are organising a symposium that will focus on seeking to support and address priority areas for cyber security related to the national visions of the Gulf countries, in order to promote research and development in the following areas:

  • Protection of Critical National Information & Infrastructure o Financial Services:
  1. Healthcare Services
  2. Transportation Services
  3. Telecommunications
  4. Utilities
  • Protection of big data o Banking
  1. Government
  2. Healthcare (Healthcare Records & Genomic Medicine)
  3. Education
  • Cyber security as it relates to the internet of things o Smart Cities
  1. Connected Healthcare
  2. Smart Manufacturing
  3. Privacy/Data Protection
  4. Cloud Computing

The Symposium will be held at the University of Manchester, from 14th to 16th November, 2017. It will be attended by scientists from Universities, other research institutions, start-up companies and established industry from the Gulf countries and the UK as well as from government entities. It will invite open discussions and potential investment to encourage the creation of UK-Gulf collaboration to access the deep pool of information & technology sharing, which will in turn lead to benefits for both the Gulf and the UK and open the door for commercial opportunities. We are asking researchers to present their stimulating work and ideas related to cyber security.

This Symposium on Cyber Security will be funded and delivered as part of the UK Government’s Gulf Science Innovation Knowledge Economy Programme, which forms part of a wider programme. It will include a research call via the Institutional Links in the Spring of 2018. Cyber security will be one of the topics of this call for proposals. This research call, the second in as many years, has a UK Government contribution of £2.4 million. This event is organised in collaboration by the UK Science & Innovation Network (SIN), the UK Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, the British Council and in partnership with the University of Manchester.

The following expenses will be covered for the researchers selected to attend:

  • Return economy flight to/from Manchester International Airport for international participants, or trainfare to Manchester for UK participants.
  • Train tickets will be paid for by way of reimbursement for UK participants upon submission of receipts.
  • 3 - 4 nights accommodation in a single room for international participants.
  • 2 - 3 nights accommodation in a single room for UK participants travelling in from outside the North West of England.

Please note that those attending from industry/SMEs must be self-funded

To apply, please complete the application form and submit it to SIN.Gulf@fco.gov.uk by the 14 September 2017

Date
الثلاثاء 14 نوفمبر 2017 to الخميس 16 نوفمبر 2017

تطبيق لندوة التعاون في مجال العلوم

البلدان المشاركة: المملكة المتحدة وبلدان الخليج

الموضوع: الأمن الإلكتروني

التواريخ: 14 - 16 نوفمبر 2017

المكان: جامعة مانشستر، المملكة المتحدة

الخلفية

تسعى بلدان الخليج إلى تحقيق مفهوم الاقتصاد الرقمي. وعلى الرغم من أن التحوّل الرقمي ينطوي على فوائد كبيرة، إلا أن مخاطر التهديدات الإلكترونية لا تنفك تزداد.

إن الإرهاب الالكتروني قضية عالمية، وهو مسألة تشهد تغييرات مستمرّة، سواء من ناحية مستوى التعقيد والأثر على الهيئات العامة والخاصة. وقد تطورت الجريمة الالكترونية بفضل القدرات المتقدمة لمرتكبيها، وبفضل كفاءة شبكات الجماعات التي تسعى إلى الاستفادة من الإرهاب الالكتروني. وقد سعت الدول القومية أيضا إلى تطوير واستخدام تكنولوجيا الهجمات الالكترونية وتوظيفها كجزء من قدراتها العسكرية الوطنية، فضلا عن العديد من الجهات الفاعلة التي تهدد بسرقة الملكية الفكرية القيمة. 

إن الموارد الهائلة لدول الخليج وتبنيها السريع للتكنولوجيا الرقمية جعل منها هدفا رئيسيًا للنشاط الإلكتروني. وبالتالي أصبح الأمن الإلكتروني أولوية بالنسبة لدول الخليج في أعقاب عدد من الهجمات التي تعرضت لها مؤخرًا شركات القطاعين العام والخاص، مع ارتفاع عدد الحوادث في المنطقة بنسبة تصل إلى 500٪ العام الماضي. وتدرك الحكومات في جميع أنحاء المنطقة هذه التهديدات الجديدة وتسعى بنشاط إلى تعزيز بنيتها التحتية الوطنية للأمن الإلكتروني، مما يدفع لتقييم مواطن الضعف وتصحيحها على الصعيد الوطني.

ونظرا للعلاقة الوثيقة بين الخليج والمملكة المتحدة، فإن من مصلحة المملكة المتحدة أيضا أن يكون لشركائنا الخليجيين قدرات أمنية إلكترونية فعالة، خاصة وأن المملكة المتحدة تعتمد في كثير من الحالات على الأداء الفعال للعناصر الرئيسية من البنية التحتية الوطنية الحساسة لدول الخليج.

ومن هذا المنطلق، ننظم ندوة تركز على السعي إلى دعم ومعالجة المجالات ذات الأولوية للأمن الإلكتروني المتعلقة بالرؤى الوطنية لدول الخليج، من أجل تعزيز البحث والتطوير في المجالات التالية:

  • حماية المعلومات والبنية التحتية الوطنية الحساسة    

١. الخدمات المالية

٢. خدمات الرعاية الصحية

٣. خدمات النقل

٤. الاتصالات السلكية واللاسلكية

٥. المرافق العامة

  • حماية البيانات الضخمة

١. القطاع المصرفي

٢. الحكومة

٣. الرعاية الصحية (سجلات الرعاية الصحية والطب الجيني)

٤. التعليم

  • الأمن الإلكتروني من ناحية علاقته بإنترنت الاشياء

١. المدن الذكية

٢. الرعاية الصحية المتصلة

٣. التصنيع الذكي

٤. حماية الخصوصية / البيانات

٥. الحوسبة السحابية 

 

ستعقد الندوة في جامعة مانشستر من 14 إلى 16 نوفمبر 2017. وسيحضرها علماء من الجامعات والمؤسسات البحثية الأخرى والشركات الناشئة والقطاع القائم من دول الخليج والمملكة المتحدة وكذلك الهيئات الحكومية. وستدعو الندوة إلى نقاشات مفتوحة وستشجع الاستثمارات المحتملة للترويج إلى إقامة علاقات تعاون بين المملكة المتحدة وبلدان الخليج للوصول إلى تبادل المعلومات والتكنولوجيا على أوسع نطاق، مما يعود بالنفع على دول الخليج والمملكة المتحدة كما يفتح الباب للفرص التجارية. الباحثون مدعوون لتقديم أعمالهم المحفزة وأفكارهم المتعلقة بالأمن الإلكتروني.

سيتم تمويل وتقديم هذه الندوة حول الأمن الإلكتروني كجزء من برنامج الابتكار العلمي واقتصاد المعرفة للمملكة المتحدة ودول الخليج، الذي يشكل جزءًأ من برنامج أوسع. وسيشمل دعوة للبحث عبر الروابط المؤسسية في ربيع العام 2018. والأمن الإلكتروني سيكون أحد المواضيع التي ستتم الدعوة إلى تقديم الطروحات بشأنها. هذه الدعوة لتقديم إقتراحات الأبحاث هي الثانية في خلال سنتين وهي مدعومة بمساهمة من حكومة المملكة المتحدة بقيمة 2.4 مليون جنيه استرليني. هذا الحدث منظم بالتعاون ما بين شبكة العلوم والابتكار في المملكة المتحدة (SIN)وزارة استراتيجيات الأعمال والطاقة والصناعة في المملكة المتحدة (BEIS) والمجلس الثقافي البريطاني بالشراكة مع جامعة مانشستر.

ستتم تغطية النفقات التالية للباحثين الذين يتم اختيارهم لحضور الندوة: 

  • تذكرة عودة من الدرجة السياحية إلى / من مطار مانشستر الدولي للمشاركين الدوليين، أو تذكرة قطار إلى مانشستر للمشاركين من المملكة المتحدة.
  • سيتم دفع ثمن تذاكر القطار عن طريق السداد للمشاركين من المملكة المتحدة عند تقديم الإيصالات.
  • الإقامة مدة 3-4  ليالٍ في غرفة مفردة للمشاركين الدوليين.
  • الإقامة مدة ليلتَيْن إلى 3 ليالٍ في غرفة مفردة للمشاركين من المملكة المتحدة القادمين من خارج شمال غرب انكلترا.

*يرجى أخذ العلم بأن المشاركين من قطاعات / شركات صغيرة أو متوسطة ينبغي أن يكونوا مموّلين ذاتيًّا.

 للتقديم، نرجوا تعبئة نموذج الطلب وإرساله إلى SIN.Gulf@fco.gov.uk بحلول 14 سبتمبر 2017